top of page

OBSCURE VINYLS #1: Ryan Paris - Dolce Vita


So you’re building a petite vinyl collection. You’re enjoying the following records but something is missing. You don't have any gems you really enjoy. This is why in today’s list we will be looking at 7 inch singles that everyone needs in their collection. So here is my following list of what you could get to spice up your collection.

Ryan Paris - Dolce Vita

The following single was released in 1983 it reached many hit charts. The following genre is the italo disco and was recorded on the Carrere label for the European release then the Uk and USA version was RCA Records. This record reached the top 10 in many countries. It was number 1 in Europe and Germany even number 5 in England. In 2007 Ryan had an interview describing the recording process of the song: "Well, I was preparing songs in Italian to participate to the first Italian Rock Festival in 1982 and my keyboard player had to go and do one year army service. So I was looking for a new keyboard player and I met Pierluigi Giombini, composer, player and artistic producer of Dolce Vita. The funny thing was that I brought him to listen to songs from me, but singing in Italian by me and he said: "I am doing only English" and he let me hear "Masterpiece" and also "You Are A Danger", number two and five in the Italian chart at that moment. I remained folgorated by the sounds and the melodies of Giombini and I said to him: "I will bring you one of my English songs". That night I composed a new song and three days later I presented it to Giombibi who loved the song. We worked on my song two times and one day Giombini told me: "I wrote a song for you but it is not a rock song". When I heard the song I really made a big jump because it was very nice.” The following record is loved by Mac Demarco and can be seen in his documentary. The record is actually not that hard to find online for cheap. However finding it locally will be a problem in the Uk as it is a bit of an uncommon record. Discogs price of the record can range from £1-4 without postage and packaging. I got my copy for £2.99 with Postage and packaging. I highly recommend the following single to anyone that wants something in a fresh, disco style as Ryan Paris is perfect for that.

I think what is scary about this song is how upbeat and cheery it is. Its disco where everything is positive, however this makes Ryan Paris a more innovated and complex person. Let’s look at one of his lyrics for a second. "It's our last night. Together with our love again. Another light. Before we'll drown in darkness. Say you'll never leave me now. say you're gonna love me” The video predominantly shows young French blonde to brunette girls with fair hair and a slim model like structure to them. What is kind of sinister and dark is that Ryan is calling out saying he doesn’t want to leave and he is in his darkest days or loneliest hour. He just wants to know that one person will always love him for who he is and not for someone else. However this is what Giombini wrote and makes Ryan his speaker and puppet to voice his opinion in the song. It kind of dark but once you know and read the lyrics you think differently about the song and why you should own it in your record collection. The meaning of the title is a life of heedless pleasure and luxury, due to its complexity and meaning I believe it should be a part of your record collection.

bottom of page